>Adnam’s Kolner

>

…I’m a bit late getting round to this one; Adnams released Kolner last Autumn as part of thier ‘Handcrafted’ range. I didn’t manage to get any on cask, but did manage to get a couple to enjoy at home, and Kolner was the one I kept (The Stout was swapped in The Grove; I think Fletch might have ended up with it?). Adnams are a big favourite of mine – for me they manage to achieve a perfect balance for a big-selling core range and satisfying the more curious of us by often branching out into seasonals and one-off’s – so I had high hopes.

I wasn’t disappointed. Despite expecting something like a Koelsch, Kolner (4.8%) comes off a lot spicier, with a rangy, wild, fruity aspect running through it. There’s plenty of Peach, Lemon and a touch of Honey on the nose, and this is complimented on the sip with a hint of Coriander. I guess a near-match would be a Witbier in terms of flavour; but all those delicate notes are wrapped up a robust Golden Ale. An interesting beer for sure; and one I certainly recommend.
About leighgoodstuff

Blog: https://goodfoodgoodbeer.wordpress.com/ I'm Leigh Linley; born and bred in Leeds, and writing about it since 2005. TGS exists solely to highlight the great beers that are out there; brewed with passion by Craft Brewers around the World. I also edit the 'Tavern Tales' section of Culture Vulture, which looks at Pubs and Pub Life rather than the beer in the glass.

Posted on 17/02/2011, in Adnams, Adnams Kolner, beer reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >Agree with you on the Adnams 'approach' to the marketplace.They retain the feel of a devoted micro, along with the quality and high standards – even though they are pretty huge these days.You'll often find a jacketed cask of Adnams atop bars across the country. A nice touch, especially when the ale contained therein is so consistently delicious.

  2. >The name is Kölner, as it says on the label. Koelner would be correct if you can't type the Umlaut.

  3. >THG – defo. Love Adnam's, they've got the balance just right.

