>SummerWine P6 #6 & Crown’s Brooklyn Heights

>

Decent Pale Ales. Like buses, you wait ages for one and two show up at the same time. Foley’s had both these gems on over the weekend, and I managed to taste both today. First up, Crown’s Brooklyn Heights; a 5.8% US-inspired pale that I’ve been wanting to taste for a while (forefront of picture). It didn’t disappoint – copper-hued, with a firm, cereal-led body and a green-pine and grapefruit hop profile that was both soft and dry at the same time. A serious pale, at a serious abv, that ends up wholly drinkable, super-refreshing and well-balanced. Simple, yes, but strangely enough can be hard to find in pale-world. Let’s get more Crown into Leeds; North and now Foley’s have stepped up to the plate – who’s going to be next?

Summer Wine’s final Project 6 IPA doesn’t fail to disappoint either – as I kind of knew it wouldn’t as I held it to my nose and caught a whiff of all that lemony aroma. With a little darker malt in the body, there’s enough sweetness at first to balance the bitterness that you know is coming; and it does arrive in style. Softly juicy at first, then getting dryer and bitterer (is that a word?) as the sip continues, P6 Brew 6 certainly lets you know it’s an IPA. Check out both breweries’ blogs too; both are enlightening as well as entertaining.
About leighgoodstuff

Blog: https://goodfoodgoodbeer.wordpress.com/ I'm Leigh Linley; born and bred in Leeds, and writing about it since 2005. TGS exists solely to highlight the great beers that are out there; brewed with passion by Craft Brewers around the World. I also edit the 'Tavern Tales' section of Culture Vulture, which looks at Pubs and Pub Life rather than the beer in the glass.

Posted on 29/11/2010, in beer in leeds, beer reviews, Crown Brewery Brooklyn Heights, SummerWine Brewery. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. >I don't have much experience with American beer or ale, I will be looking out for Foleys input in London.Thanks GuysIan

  2. >We popped in for a half of each on Sunday before nipping up the road to the cinema.I've had Brooklyn Heights a few times now and its always incredible. So Esther had a half of that and I went for a half of Project 6.Project 6 Brew 6 was a huge hop onslaught! loads of citrus bitterness, lemon, lime and grapefruit. At times I felt it edged towards being too bitter and a bit unbalanced but I kept coming back for more. I'm not sure I could handle a full pint but saying that I didn't struggle with my half or my previous pint of Brew 5.I'd have liked a little more malt sweetness and a softer mouthfeel to make it less harsh. But I did enjoy it and I'm glad the lads at Summer Wine are pushing forwards and brewing brave beers.

  3. >Rob – my problem with the P6's is that with it sometimes being weeks between each edition, I have to go back to my notes to remind myself of what the main points of each one was – and I would agree and say that the ones with a touch more sweetness in the body drank a lot easier. This one was, I think, the bitterest. However – Enjoyable – and an excellent concept like you say, and you know we love the SWB lads here at TGS.

  4. >Haven't had either of these yet but definitely want to. Shame I've missed the Project 6 stuff as it sounds great. I hope Summer Wine get some more distribution down south next year (and Crown, of course!).

