>An Easter Treat

>

…A warm Hot Cross Bun, smeared with a generous helping of Tangerine Marmalade, and a Budwieser Budvar Dark. Although you may think it a little thin, the yeastiness of the bread really works with the lager, and the gentle Saaz hoppiness accompanies those citrus fruits in the bun and the marmalade perfectly. Give it a try.
About leighgoodstuff

Blog: https://goodfoodgoodbeer.wordpress.com/ I'm Leigh Linley; born and bred in Leeds, and writing about it since 2005. TGS exists solely to highlight the great beers that are out there; brewed with passion by Craft Brewers around the World. I also edit the 'Tavern Tales' section of Culture Vulture, which looks at Pubs and Pub Life rather than the beer in the glass. If you'd like to submit a piece for Tavern Tales, or contact me about any Freelance writing you think I would be suited to, then don't hesitate to contact me via email here.

Posted on 10/04/2009, in Budvar Dark, easter treats, food and beer matches, seasonal baking. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. >I wish I could Leigh. I’d have to make my own HCBs though. Actually, I might just do that! Although I had been planning a hazelnut rye bread or a Bauernbrot for the weekend. Could do both! Damn, I’m hungry…

  2. >Mate – Hazelnut Rye Bread sounds awesome and just the thing to go with something mild, nutty and dark. You got a recipe for that you would’nt mind sharing? Email me at the address above if so…!

  3. >That does look like a goodc combo.We were wondering yesterday which beer would go best with a scone, clotted cream and jam. Any suggestions?

  4. >Recipe on the way.

  5. >Adeptus – cheers mate. B&B – that's a tricky one. Off the top of my head, i'd go for something sweet, possibly something in the way of an Amber or Steam beer, or something honeyed? Cream is always a tricky one to do stuff with.

  6. >We could use one of those buns now.

Leave a Reply

