>Goose Island’s Matilda

>

Well, I’m a sucker for American Craft Beer and Cool labels. So what. I’m into design, and Goose Island’s Matilda really caught my eye – and I’m glad it did. My favourite Belgian beer, without a doubt, is Orval, and what we have seems to be a bit of a Chicagoan Homage to that sweet, sweet beer ( A truncated version of the Orval ‘Mathilda’s Wedding Ring’ myth is elegantly transcribed on the label). So far, So good.

It pours dark amber, with that familiar phenolic/banana nose that Orval displays albeit a little softer. So far so good. Matilda, however, proves to be a much simpler girl that Orval; much sweeter, with the hops coming through with bitterness long after the sip. Toffees and hard – candy flavours percolate, rather than the deeper clove and citrus you’d expect from a ‘typical’ Belgian – and I guess that’s where the American influence comes in.

Don’t take that as a negative review – I loved it, and would happily drink more. It’s almost too simple to say that Matilda is a straightahead American twist on a Belgian classic – but it is.
About leighgoodstuff

Blog: https://goodfoodgoodbeer.wordpress.com/ I'm Leigh Linley; born and bred in Leeds, and writing about it since 2005. TGS exists solely to highlight the great beers that are out there; brewed with passion by Craft Brewers around the World. I also edit the 'Tavern Tales' section of Culture Vulture, which looks at Pubs and Pub Life rather than the beer in the glass. If you'd like to submit a piece for Tavern Tales, or contact me about any Freelance writing you think I would be suited to, then don't hesitate to contact me via email here.

Posted on 02/11/2008, in goose island, Matilda, orval. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >I have also noticed that American Belgians tend to go a bit heavy with the candy sugar and overlook some of the complexity (like wild yeast) that makes the beer special. They’re still a good drink, but not totally the same.

  2. >Well said, Heather. Good stuff, but not the same indeed.

Leave a Reply

