>The Midweek: Schneider-Brooklyner Hopfenweisse

>

First bands, now brewers – I’m talking Supergroups.
When I first heard that Brooklyn and Schneider were brewing together and sharing each other’s hops, my interest was naturally piqued – as a lover of both brewhouses. Surely this would make the brewing equivalent of Hendrix jamming with Led Zeppelin, Or Jeff Buckley duetting with Janis Joplin? (What can i say, I’m a child of Grunge…)
Maybe. I had to drink this beer; this month I managed to get my mitts on a couple of bottles (Thanks, Zak!)
Essentially, Schneider and Brooklyn have created a new beer style; and to be honest, it’s a good, solid beer. The use of Halletauer hops give it a sharp edge, and a somewhat astringent aroma. However, upon tasting you see where the joins are – on one hand you get a citric, tropical burst with much less Banana and Cloves than you’d expect from a weizen – but then those hops come through and give you a high, high bitterness. It drinks really well, smooth and long – but toward the end of the glass it does become a bit of a struggle to drink – possibly simply due to its up-front flavours. This is no shrinking violet of a beer – 8.2abv with attitude to match.

Seek it out, even just to try it – it certainly is worth that. Supergroups – always interesting, but never as good as the original bands. If I can get my hands on the Brooklyn – Schneider version, I will let you know…
About leighgoodstuff

Blog: https://goodfoodgoodbeer.wordpress.com/ I'm Leigh Linley; born and bred in Leeds, and writing about it since 2005. TGS exists solely to highlight the great beers that are out there; brewed with passion by Craft Brewers around the World. I also edit the 'Tavern Tales' section of Culture Vulture, which looks at Pubs and Pub Life rather than the beer in the glass. If you'd like to submit a piece for Tavern Tales, or contact me about any Freelance writing you think I would be suited to, then don't hesitate to contact me via email here.

Posted on 08/05/2008, in Schneider-Brooklyner Hopfenweisse. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Yesterday I went to a beerfest to celebrate the 82nd birthday of Fred Eckardt, the forefather of American microbrewing. Handsome old coot. Anyways, I drank like a Viking and barfed and passed out by 7:00pm. Embarrassing. Stupid coginers.

  2. >oh yeah, funny you should mention that, the last time i goti n such a state was also on a sunday! Is it because we treat sundays like weekends, when in fact, the night is a ‘school night’? I don’t know. All i know is this – a 2pm start on a sunday seems like the best idea at the time, and very rarely ends up in a dignified manner.

Leave a Reply

